About Us

Board of Health

The Fayette County Board of Health exists to address the health needs of all the residents of Fayette County, regardless of race, creed, age, or gender, with a goal to encourage healthy, responsible citizens. This will be accomplished through education, fair allocation of available resources and access to Public Health.

The Board meets quarterly on the second Wednesday at 5:30 p.m. at Palmer Homecare Services, 1602 S. Frederick Street, Oelwein, IA, 52175.

These meetings are open to the public.


Roberta Mittelsted, RN, MSN, FNP
113 Union Ridge Dr.
West Union, IA 52175
Office: 563-578-5375
Home: 563-422-3398
Email: mittelra@his.org
Cell: 563-380-3086

Date Appointed: 01/01/2000
Term Expires: 12/31/2012

Ken McDonough, DVM
1408 Outer Road
Oelwein, IA 50662
Office: 319-283-1158
Home: 319-283-1033
Email: kenandamymcdonough@q.com
Cell: 563-920-5111

Date Appointed: 09/01/2002
Term Expires: 12/31/2011
Michael Puff, DVM
123 9th Ave. SE
Oelwein, IA 50662
Home: 319-283-2088
Email: puffmike@yahoo.com
Date Appointed: 01/01/2009
Term Expires: 12/31/2012
Dr. Anthony Leo
201 8th Ave. SE
Oelwein, IA 50662
Office: 319-283-4321
Home: 319-283-3029
Date Appointed: 03/31/1992
Term Expires: 12/31/2011
Jeanine Tellin
18534 100th St.
Maynard, IA 50655
Home: 563-637-2774
Email: djtellinfarm@iowatelecom.net
Date Appointed: 01/2010
Term Expires: